Launch Updates - Analytical Graphics, Inc.

If you're having problems seeing this e-mail, click here

 
 

New Launch: 2011 October 2, 2015 UTC
Site: Plesetsk Missile and Space Complex, Russia
Launcher: Soyuz 2-1b
International Designator(s): 2011-055A
 
SSC Name Owner
37829 COSMOS 2474 CIS


"A fresh satellite for Russia's Glonass navigation network launched aboard a modernized Soyuz rocket Sunday on the first flight of the workhorse booster since a mishap doomed a mission in August.

"The Soyuz 2-1b rocket lifted off at 2015 GMT (4:15 p.m. EDT) Sunday from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia. Launch occurred at 12:15 a.m. Moscow time.

"The rocket's three core stages finished their work in less than 10 minutes, then a Fregat upper stage fired three times to reach a circular orbit almost 12,000 miles [19,312 km] above Earth.

"The Fregat stage deployed the 3,119-pound [1,415-kg] Glonass M spacecraft at 2347 GMT (7:47 p.m. EDT), and ground controllers communicated with the satellite to verify it was in good health, according to ISS Reshetnev, the craft's prime contractor."

"Roscosmos, the Russian space agency, said Sunday's launch restored the Glonass satellite fleet to full capability for the first time since 1996. The satellite launched Sunday is the 24th member of the Glonass constellation, giving the system reach throughout the world."

"Four more Glonass satellites are due for launch before the end of this year. Three will fly together on a single Proton rocket launch in November, then another will ride to orbit on another Soyuz rocket."

Source: Spaceflight Now, "Soyuz launch restores Russian navigation system"

AGI's Launch Notification e-mails will help you stay current with all new spacecraft launches. E-mails are sent after every launch and include key spacecraft information such as: the date, time, launch site, launcher, international number, name, and owner. Get more information on thousands of satellites and other vehicles by viewing STK models, animations, and our encyclopedic "Spacecraft Digest" database at www.agi.com/scdigest.

 
 

© 2011 Analytical Graphics, Inc.  |   220 Valley Creek Blvd. Exton, PA 19341

Quick unsubscribe to launch notifications

www.agi.com